How many times has J.P. McManus won the Grand National?

How many times has J.P. McManus won the Grand National?  Irish billionaire John Patrick ‘J.P.’ McManus is, far and away, foremost owner in National Hunt racing, with hundreds of horses in training on both sides of the Irish Sea. However, for all his pre-eminence, McManus has won the Grand National just twice, his two winners coming over a decade apart. Those winners were, of course, Don’t Push It in 2010 and Minella Times in 2021.

Both Grand National victories were emotional for McManus, but for different reasons. Don’t Push It, trained by Jonjo O’Neill and ridden by Sir Anthony McCoy, was a first winner of the celebrated steeplechase for owner, trainer and jockey after many previous attempts. Minella Times, trained by Henry De Bromhead and ridden by Rachael Blackmore, was, if anything, even more notable for the fact that, in 172 previous runnings of the Grand National, the highest placing achieved by a female jockey had been third. However, the victory was tinged with sadness, coming as it did shortly after the death of Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh and, more pertinently, in the wake of the sudden death of McManus’ 40-year-old daughter-in-law, Emma, on New Year’s Eve while on a family holiday in Barbados.