What is the Beverley Bullet?

Not to be confused with the horse of the same name, an eight-year-old gelding trained by Lawrence Mullaney, the Beverley Bullet, or Beverley Bullet Sprint Stakes, is a Listed, five-furlong race, run at Beverley Racecourse in the East Riding of Yorkshire. Inaugurated in 2004, the Beverley Bullet is open to horses aged three years and upwards and, even in its relatively short history, has been won by one or two horses that have gone on to victory at the highest, Group One level. The 2011 winner, Tangerine Trees, won the Prix de l’Abbaye de Longchamp on his very next start, while the 2016 winner, Alpha Delphini won the Nunthorpe Stakes at York two seasons later.

The five-furlong course at Beverley is idiosyncratic insofar that it is on the rise throughout, making it a test of stamina as well as speed, particularly when the going is soft. Furthermore, the supposedly ‘straight’ course features a right-handed dog-leg which, in turn, creates the most pronounced draw bias, towards low numbers, in the whole country. Indeed, seven of the last ten winners of the Beverley Bullet were drawn in stall four or lower; the other three winners, Tangerine Trees in 2011, Take Cover in 2018 and Dakota Gold in 2020 were drawn 9, 9 and 8, respectively.