How many jockeys have recorded back-to-back victories in the Grand National?

In 2021, Rachael Blackmore made history by becoming the first female jockey to win the Grand National and, although currently sidelined with injury, may well attempt to become the first female jockey to record back-to-back victories in 2022. In the history of the Grand National, which dates back to 1839, nine of her male counterparts have already done so and one of them, George Stevens – the most successful jockey in the history of the Grand National – actually did so twice.

The first jockey to win the Grand National in consecutive years was Tom Olliver on Gaylad in 1842 and Vanguard in 1843. He was followed by Stevens, on Emblem in 1863 and 1864 and, again, on The Colonel in 1868 and 1869. ‘Gentleman’ riders John Richardson and Tommy Beasley won on Disturbance and Reigny in 1873 and 1874 and Empress and Woodcock in 1880 and 1881, respectively, as did Ted Wilson on Voluptuary in 1884 and Roquefort in 1885.

Bryan Marshall, who rode Early Mist in 1953 and Royal Tan in 1954, was the next back-to-back winner, followed by Brian Fletcher on Red Rum in 1973 and 1974 and Leighton Aspell on Pineau De Re in 2014 and Many Clouds in 2015. The most recent back-to-back winner was Davy Russell, who rode Tiger Roll in both 2018 and 2019.