How many racecourses are there in Wales?

The short answer is three. Chepstow Racecourse, home of the most valuable race run in Wales, the Coral Welsh National, is probably the best known of the trio. Situated in Monmouthshire, South East Wales, close to the border with England, the dual purpose course consists of a left-handed, undulating oval, 1 mile 7 furlongs around, plus a straight mile course, which joins the round course at the top of the home straight. The National Hunt course features 11 fairly stiff fences, or seven flights of hurdles, per circuit.

Not to be confused with Bangor, the cathedral city in Gwynedd, North West Wales, Bangor-on-Dee Racecourse is situated to the south-west of the village of the same name near Wrexham, North East Wales. Established in 1859, Bangor-on-Dee is a National Hunt course, consisting of a left-handed, flat circuit, 1 mile 4 furlongs in extent, with sharp bend and six hurdles, or nine fences, per circuit. The course has the distinction of being the only one in Britain without a grandstand; viewing takes place from a sloping grass bank, which surrounds the racing surface.

Ffos Las Racecourse, situated near the former mining village of Trimsaran in Carmathenshire, West Wales, was built on the site of what was, at one time, the largest open cast mine in Europe. The dual purpose course, which opened, to much fanfare, in 2009, is similar to Bangor-on-Dee insofar that it consists of a left-handed, flat oval, approximately 1 mile 4 furlongs around, but is essentially galloping in character, with wide, easy bends.