How many times has Aidan O’Brien won the Derby?

How many times has Aidan O'Brien won the Derby?  Perennial Irish Champion Flat Trainer Aidan O’Brien has exerted a stranglehold on British Classics in recent years. Since 1998, the ‘Master of Ballydoyle’ has won the 1,000 Guineas and the St. Leger six times apiece, the Derby and the Oaks eight times apiece and the 2,000 Guineas ten times. Unsurprisingly, O’Brien is, in fact, the leading trainer in the history of the 2,000 Guineas and the Derby.

As far as the Derby is concerned, O’Brien saddled his first winner, Galileo – nowadays billed, justifiably, as ‘The Best Sire in the World’ – in 2001. He wasted little time in saddling his second, High Chaparral, the following year, but would have to wait another decade before winning the Derby again. In fact, in 2012, Camelot won the 2,000 Guineas and the Derby and came within three-quarters of length of becoming the first horse since Nijinsky, in 1970, to win the Triple Crown, when turned over, at odds-on, in the St. Leger.

Camelot has since been followed by five more Derby winners, namely Ruler Of The World in 2013, Australia in 2014, Wings Of Eagles in 2017, Anthony Van Dyck in 2019 and Serpentine in 2020. Indeed, O’Brien is also responsible for High Definition who, at the time of writing, is hot favourite for the 2021 Derby, so may soon be adding to his winning tally.