Which three fillies have won the Kentucky Derby?

Which three fillies have won the Kentucky Derby?  The Kentucky Derby has been run at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky since 1875, although the distance was shortened from a mile and a half to a mile and a quarter in 1896. Traditionally staged on the first Saturday in May, ‘The Run for the Roses’, as the race is known, is open to three-year-old colts, gelding and fillies, with the latter receiving a 5lb allowance from their male counterparts. Along with the Preakness Stakes, run at Pimlico in Baltimore, Maryland two weeks later and the Belmont Stakes run at Belmont Park in Elmont, New York three weeks after that, the Kentucky Derby constitutes the American Triple Crown.

Nevertheless, in the better part of a century and a half, just three fillies have won the Kentucky Derby. The first of them was the unbeaten Regret, trained by the legendary James Rowe Sr., in 1915. Unfortunately, owner Harry Payne Whitney neglected to enter her in the Preakness Stakes, so there was no Triple Crown attempt for her. The second was Genuine Risk, trained by LeRoy Jolley, in 1980 and the third was Winning Colors, trained by Darrell Wayne Lukas, in 1988. Both fillies went on to contest both the Preakness Stakes and the Belmont Stakes, with Genuine Risk finishing second in both and Winning Colors finishing third in the former, but unplaced in the latter.

How many times has Ryan Moore completed the 1,000 Guineas – Oaks double?

How many times has Ryan Moore completed the 1,000 Guineas – Oaks double?  Although he British Champion Jockey in 2006, 2008 and 2009, Ryan Moore has, since 2015, been first choice jockey to Aidan O’Brien at Ballydoyle Stables, Co. Tipperary. Indeed, it was in that capacity that he completed the 1,000 Guineas – Oaks double for the first time in 2016 and did so again in 2020. Moore had won the 1,000 Guineas twice before, on Homecoming Queen, trained by O’Brien, in 2012 and Legatissimo, trained by David Wachman, in 2015, and the Oaks once before, on Snow Fairy, trained by Ed Dunlop

In 2016, Minding – later described by O’Brien as ‘one of the best fillies I have ever trained’ – justified favouritism in the 1,000 Guineas, leading home an O’Brien 1-2-3 in the process. The Galileo filly suffered a facial injury leaving the stalls when narrowly beaten, at long odds-on, in the Irish equivalent, but justified favouritism, again, in the Oaks. In fact, had she been trained by anyone but O’Brien, she may well have contested the Derby, rather than the Oaks.

Four years later, Ryan Moore won both fillies’ Classics in the same season for a second time, aboard another Galileo filly, Love. She won the 1,000 Guineas by 4¼ lengths and the Oaks impressively, by 9 lengths. Like Minding in 2016, Love was named Cartier Three-Year-Old Filly in 2020.

Why is the Rowley Mile at Newmarket so-called?

Why is the Rowley Mile at Newmarket so-called?  Compared to other countries and sports like NFL in the US, there is so much history to our sport. Newmarket has two racecourses, the Rowley Mile, which is the older of the two, and the July Course. ‘Old Rowley’ was a stallion belonging to King Charles II, who was a passionate horse racing enthusiast and spent much of his time – too much, in the eyes of Parliament – in Newmarket. Indeed, the ‘Merry Monarch’, as he was popularly known, was largely responsible for the development of the town as a national centre for horse racing.

Away from the racecourse, Charles II was a notorious womaniser, with a string of mistresses, of which Eleanor ‘Nell’ Gwyn was probably the most famous. All told, he fathered 14 illegitimate children and his scandalous liaisons were seized upon by wits of the day, who ridiculed the King by nicknaming him ‘Old Rowley’ or simply ‘Rowley’, in reference to the aforementioned stallion. Old Rowley, the stallion, was ‘renowned for the number and beauty of its offspring’, so the joke was that, in terms of his own prowess, the King was not unlike his nicknamesake. Nevertheless, Charles II was a popular monarch in his day and, in 2017, a statue of him was unveiled at Newmarket Racecourse to celebrate 350 years of racing at his favourite venue.

Why was Royal Ascot postponed in 1955?

Why was Royal Ascot postponed in 1955?  On May 28, 1955, the Associated Society of Locomotive Engineers and Firemen (ASLEF) called a national rail strike, which would not be called off until June 14, when pay rises were awarded. On May 31, following a meeting of the Privy Council at Balmoral Castle, the Queen declared a state of emergency, with emergency regulations coming into force the following day.

As a result of the unrest, Trooping the Colour – which celebrates the ‘official’ birthday of the Sovereign, on the second Saturday in June – was cancelled altogether and, for the first time in living memory, Royal Ascot was postponed until mid-July. The meeting was scheduled for Tuesday to Friday, as usual, but with a different running order, to allow horses that ran in the King Edward VII Stakes or Hardwicke Stakes on the Tuesday to also run in the King George VI and Queen Elizabeth Stakes on the following Saturday, if so desired.

Unfortunately, one of the consequences of moving the Royal Meeting from its traditional slot in the calendar was that the opening day, July 12, was the hottest day of the year. After two days of extreme heat, described by racegoers as ‘insufferable’, on July 14 Ascot Racecourse was struck by a violent thunderstorm, bringing lightning and torrential local rainfall. Tragedy struck when lightning went to ground through metal rails close to a refreshment tent opposite the Royal Enclosure. Dozens of people were injured, two fatally, and racing was abandoned after the fourth race.

1 2 3 4 13