Which horse won the Welsh Grand National in 2009?

Which horse won the Welsh Grand National in 2009?  The Welsh Grand National, run over 3 miles 6½ furlongs at Chepstow, is the most valuable race of the year in Wales, worth a total of £150,000 in prize money. Fittingly, its roll of honour includes some of the finest staying chasers since World War II, including Burrough Hill Lad, Master Oats, Synchronised and Native River.

However, just one winner, Dream Alliance, who stayed on well to win by threequarters a length in 2009, has received the ‘Hollywood treatment’ and been the subject of not one, but two, films. His unlikely, rags-to-riches story was first told in the 2015 documentary ‘Dark Horse: The Incredible True Story of Dream Alliance’ and retold, in fictionalised form, in the 2020 drama ‘Dream Horse’, starring Toni Collette and Damian Lewis.

Dream Alliance was bred and owned by Brian and Jan Vokes, who banded together with friends and colleagues from Cefn Fforest, near Caerphilly, to form the Alliance Partnership. Raised on a local allotment, Dream Alliance entered training with Somerset handler Philip Hobbs as a three-year-old. He won a couple of times over hurdles and over fences but, as a seven-year-old, suffered a life-threatening tendon injury, requiring revolutionary, and expensive, stem cell treatment.

Nevertheless, Dream Alliance returned to training 19 months later, as an eight-year-old, finishing a tired second over hurdles on his reappearance at Chepstow in April, 2009. Nevertheless, he took his chance in the Welsh Grand National the following month and gave his owners the thrill of a lifetime by winning at odds of 20/1.

Pegasus Cup – The World’s Greatest Prize

Pegasus Cup - The World's Greatest Prize

Legendary Pegasus Horse | Pexels.com

The Pegasus Cup ran for the first time on January 28th, 2017, at Gulfstream Park in Hallandale Beach, Florida. The first winner was Arrogate. Arrogate holds the race record in 1:46.83, which also became the track record at Gulfstream Park.

The 2023 Pegasus Cup will return this January 28th, and it has already started making waves around the horse race world. What do you know about this new but prestigious horse race competition? Read on.

The Pegasus Cup— Brief Review

This horse race has been the race with the highest prize of all horse races worldwide for the last two consecutive years.

In 2017 the Pegasus Cup was created with a new model where 12 investors each pay $1 million directly into the prize pool. In 2018 the prize pool increased to $16 million, with the Stronach Group adding $4 million to make the prize even more attractive.

However, in 2019, the size of the bag decreased from 16 million dollars to 9 million dollars due to the non-sale of all spaces in the 2018 edition.

However, in the 2023 Pegasus Cup edition, the race winner will take 1 million dollars from the purse money. Even though it is a significant reduction from some of its previous editions, it is still huge and bigger than most horse race purse money worldwide.

Pegasus Cup Facts and Statistics

Going into the Pegasus horse race 2023, here are a few statistics and facts about the Pegasus Cup’s previous editions:

  • The grade I race is for horses four years or older.

  • They run 1 1/8 miles (1,800 meters) on land.

  • The Breeders’ Cup Classic is usually a rematch of first and second place.

  • The Pegasus Cup is, for many equines, the last race of their lives. After the race, many horses are withdrawn from competition to begin life as a stud.

  • No horse has won the Pegasus Cup twice since it started in 2017.

  • Only Irad Ortiz Jr (rider) has won the race twice in 2020 and 2022, but with different race horses.

  • The fastest winning record time for the Pegasus Cup was set in its inaugural year by Arrogate with a race record of 1:46.83.

  • Since the Pegasus Cup’s founding, only US racehorse riders have won the purse money.

Pegasus World Cup History Past Winners

The Pegasus cup has had six previous editions, which have offered exciting races. Below are the Pegasus Cup’s previous winners, their race-winning time, the horse rider, and the winning year.



Horse Rider




Florent Geroux




Mike E Smith



City Of Light

Javier Castellano



Mucho Gusto

Irad Ortiz Jr



Knicks Go

Joel Rosario



Life Is Good

Irad Ortiz Jr



The Pegasus Cup is one of the most significant horse race events in 2023 and is a must-follow for horse race lovers. The competition, named after the legendary horse Pegasus, has drawn top racehorses globally and celebrities to the event, and we expect the same for this year’s edition. Would you be interested in watching or attending this prestigious cup competition? We will be happy to hear your thoughts.

Which modern trainer has saddled most winners of the Lincoln Handicap?

Which modern trainer has saddled most winners of the Lincoln Handicap?  The Lincoln Handicap, formerly the Lincolnshire Handicap, was run for the first time in its current guise, over a mile, at Lincoln Racecourse in 1855. The race was transferred to Doncaster Racecourse in 1965, following the closure of its original venue the previous year. Traditionally, the Lincoln Handicap was the curtain raiser to the British Flat season and, while Flat racing now takes place all year ’round, the historic race still marks the start of the turf season.

In the late-nineteenth century, jockey turned trainer William ‘Jack’ Robinson won the Lincoln Handicap three years running, courtesy of Clorane (1896), Winkfield’s Pride (1897) and Prince Barcaldine (1898). He won the race for a fourth time with Cinderello (1910) and remains, jointly, the most successful trainer in the history of the Lincoln Handicap.

More recently, Newmarket trainer William Haggas, who joined the training ranks in his own right in 1986, has also saddled four winners of the Lincoln Handicap. Haggas opened his account with High Low (1992) and, after a lengthy hiatus, followed up with Very Wise (2007), Penitent (2010) and Addeybb (2018); the 2007 Lincoln Handicap was run at Newcastle, on the old turf course, during the redevelopment of Doncaster. Penitent went on to win two Group 2 races for David O’Meara, while Addeybb, who remains in training as an 8-year-old, is a four-time Group 1 winner at home and abroad.


Since 1972, how many horses have won the Stayers’ Hurdle more than once?

Since 1972, how many horses have won the Stayers' Hurdle more than once?  The Stayers’ Hurdle was first run in its current guise – that is, as the three-mile hurdling championship – in 1972, although between 2005 and 2015 it was known, for sponsorship purposes, as the ‘World Hurdle’. The race is run over 2 miles, 7 furlongs and 213 yards on the New Course at Cheltenham, where it is the feature race on Day Three of the Cheltenham Festival, a.k.a. St. Patrick’s Thursday.

In five decades, the Stayers’ Hurdle has been cancelled just once, in 2001, because of an outbreak of foot-and-mouth disease, which put paid to the whole of the Cheltenham Festival. All told, a total of five horses have won the Stayers’ Hurdle more than once. The first of them was Crimson Embers, trained by Fulke Walwyn, who recorded his first win in 1982 and recaptured the title in 1986, having been beaten a neck by stable companion Rose Ravine in the 1985 renewal.

Galmoy, trained by John Mulhern, was another dual winner, in 1987 and 1988, as was Baracouda, trained by François Doumen, in 2002 and 2003. Next up came the one and only three-time winner, Inglis Drever, trained by the subsequently banned Howard Johnson, in 2005, 2007 and 2008. Inglis Drever did not run in the 2006 renewal, having been sidelined for much of the 2005/06 season with a tendon injury. Coincidentally, though, he was immediately followed by the all-conquering Big Buck’s, trained by Paul Nicholls, 2009, who did complete a four-timer, in 2010, 2011 and 2012.

1 2 3 4 5 17