Does Shishkin have wind problems?

Does Shishkin have wind problems? At the end of the 2020/21 National Hunt season, Shishkin was the highest-rated novice chaser in the country, according to Timeform. Owned by Joe and Marie Donnelly and trained by Nicky Henderson, the seven-year-old won all five starts over fences in 2020/21, including the Arkle Challenge Trophy at the Cheltenham Festival, and is currently favourite for the 2022 Queen Mother Champion Chase.

In September, 2021, shortly after announcing the retirement of his former stable star, Altior, Henderson was keen to make it known that Shishkin had undergone a minor wind operation. A routine examination of his upper respiratory tract – performed with a device called an endoscope and therefore known, colloquially, as ‘scoping’ – revealed that Shishkin might need a wind operation at some point. So, rather than interrupt his training programme once the season was underway, connections chose to schedule surgery sooner rather than later.

Explaining the rationale behind the ‘safety first’ approach, Henderson said, ‘You don’t want to run in the Tingle Creek [his intended target for Shishkin’s seasonal reappearance, at Sandown in December] and find that there was a problem and stop and start again.’ Nevertheless, he played down the procedure, describing it as ‘nothing out of the ordinary’ and added that Shiskin had done ‘phenomenally well’, physically, over the summer.

Is It True All Racehorses Have Their Birthday on January 1st?

Is It True All Racehorses Have Their Birthday on January 1st? It sounds a strange question.

However, there is a grain of truth in the answer.

Surely, racehorses are born throughout the year? Even this isn’t quite true. As the UK Flat horse racing season starts in March or April you will find most racehorses are born from January – June. For horse racing purposes, a simple way to categorise each age group, horses become a year older on the turn of the new year.

So for racehorses, January 1st signifies one year older.

However, you will find that most two-year-old racehorses, although classified as two, are not officially two until their birth date (some are older).

For example, an individual born on the 2nd May will not officially be two until that date. However, publications such as the Racing Post or Sporting Life will show them as being two.

All age groups of race horses are categorised the same.

Predominantly, two-year-old thoroughbreds race against their own age group. There is a small number of races where they are eligible to contest older horses. They are given a significant weight advantage (handicapped) because they would have little chance of beating older opposition without this advantage.

The most significant race where two-year-olds race against older opposition is the Coolmore Wootton Bassett Nunthorpe Stakes (Group 1) which is held at York racecourse in the month of August over 5f.

Since 1922, just five two-year-olds have won this race: High Treason (1953), My Beau (1954), Ennis (1956), Lyric Fantasy (1992) & Kingsgate Native (2007).

With a weight allowance of at least 22lbs and winning prize money of £226,840 it’s a race most horse trainers would like to win.

How much does the average race horse weigh?

How much does the average race horse weigh? When it comes to horses they literally come in all shapes and sizes. Among the smallest horses in world are the falabella, an Argentinian breed, which is just over two foot tall. The largest horses include the shire, Percheron and Belgian draft.


The Budweiser Clydesdale horses are known for their colossal size. King LeGear stands 20.5 hands high and weighs in at 164 stones.

However, the biggest horse in the world came from Bedfordshire, England. Sampson (also known as Mammoth) a shire horse gelding bred by Thomas Cleaver of Toddington Mills in 1850. He stood over 7-feet tall and weighed almost 240 stones.

A giant of a horse.

Race horses by comparison are a bred for speed but still big, strong horses. On average a race horse weighs half a tonne, which is 60 stones.

Most heavy horse breeds are used for their strength such as ploughing fields, drafts, or pulling logs in forestry. While racehorses are built for speed.

A shire horse which weights 150 stones can pull a total weight of over 4000 stones. While a race horse can run at a speed of over 40 miles per hour.

The world’s heaviest animals include the African elephant which is a giant 780 stones. However, this seems small fry when you consider the night of the blue whale which is the heaviest animal on the planet at almost 30,000 stones. In tonnes that’s 190.

How much do you weigh?

Are you as fast as a horse or heavy as a whale?

Which horse came closest to beating Frankel?

Which horse came closest to beating Frankel? Bred and owned by the late Khalid Abdullah and trained by the late Sir Henry Cecil, Frankel was officially the greatest racehorse of all time. He was retired from racing in October, 2012, unbeaten in all 14 races, including ten at Group 1 level, with an official rating of 140. While it should be noted that, at the time of writing, the unbeaten 3-year-old Sea The Stars colt Baaeed is rated 125, 2lb higher than Frankel at the equivalent stage of his career, no other horse since has been worth mentioning in the same breath.

Strictly speaking, the horse that came closest to beating Frankel, in terms of the official winning distance, was Nathaniel, who was beaten just half a length when both horses made their racecourse debuts, as two-year-olds, in a maiden stakes races over 7 furlongs at Newmarket in August, 2010. However, despite the narrow winning margin, Frankel only had to be shaken up by jockey Tom Queally to win readily and, in truth, never looked in any real danger of defeat.

However, that was by no means the case on the third start of his three-year-old campaign, in the St. James’s Palace Stakes at Royal Ascot. Fresh from a 6-length win in the 2,000 Guineas at Newmarket, where he set blistering early fractions, Frankel proved more amenable to restraint at Ascot. Nevertheless, when asked for an effort, his natural exuberance took over and he soon strode clear, only for his exertions to take their toll close home. At the line, Frankel was all out to hold Zoffany by an ever-diminishing three-quarters of a length.

1 2 3 4 15