Which current jockey has won the Grand National most often?

The most successful jockey in the history of the Grand National was George Stevens, who rode five winners between 1856 and 1870. However, in the last two decades or so, the most successful jockeys in the Grand National have been Ruby Walsh, Leighton Aspell and Davy Russell, all of whom have ridden two winners apiece. Walsh won on Papillon, trained by his father, Ted, in 2000 and Hedgehunter, trained by Willie Mullins, in 2005. Aspell won back-to-back renewals in 2014 and 2015 on Pineau De Re, trained by Richard Newland, and Many Clouds, trained by Oliver Sherwood, respectively, while Davy Russell did likewise in 2018 and 2019 on Tiger Roll, trained by Gordon Elliott.

Of course, Ruby Walsh and Leighton Aspell have now retired, Walsh in May, 2019, immediately after winning the Punchestown Gold Cup, and Aspell in February, 2020, with much less fanfare, at Fontwell. Davy Russell, 42, was also urged to retire from race riding by Michael O’Leary, owner of Tiger Roll, after sustaining serious spinal injuries in a fall in the Munster National at Limerick in October, 2020. However, having missed most of the 2020/21 National Hunt season, Russell – who has been riding out for Gordon Elliott – announced in August, 2021, that he would be returning to the saddle ‘in a fortnight or so’. When he does, he will have the distinction of being the current jockey who has won the Grand National most often.